Iteration…AGAIN!

Hello again to the weekly blog post! I must yet again disappoint you in say that this week again will be iteration on animations.

This week I went back to finish the melee enemy because I noticed that there was a change in size between the movement animation and the attack animation. Another reason I had to work with this animation was that we got some feedback on the game testing that it was hard to see the police enemies because they blended to well with the background of the game space.

So I started with dragging the movement animation into the attack animation in Photoshop so I could make them the same size and see so it didn’t change position when changing animation. This was not too hard to fix. The only thing that gave me some trouble was my own wrong doing in the begging of the project when I had tribal structure in my Photoshop files. Another little hiccup was that I had to do it two times because my saved Photoshop file changed to another type of file that Photoshop could not read, this was not a big problem it was just a little set back.

I wanted to add something that would help adding the feeling that it was a police, so I googled for police signs for references. There was one pattern I found on a lot of pictures and that was a checked pattern and mostly with the colors white and blue. So I added this to the shoulders of the character. I did this for both the attack and movement animation. I did not change anything with the movement animation because I had already done that before. I did though change the attack animation a bit, I added that the legs move a bit when he swings his weapon.

Melee-enemy-Animations-attack-interationMelee-enemy-Animations-movement-interation

Nils has been on me to add highlights and shadows as we planned before that we were going to add when we started the project, so I started adding some new highlights to the movement animation and adding better highlights and shadows to the attack animation. I finished the shading today and got it approved by Nils so now all I have to do now is to touch up the attack animation with taking away lines and things that should not be there as well as checking so everything is in place and ready to make a new sprite sheets of the animations. This should all be done tomorrow so I can start with the ranged enemy and start writing on the document.

So thanks for reading and have a good one!

This entry was posted in School and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Iteration…AGAIN!

  1. swedishcheese says:

    Hello Simon!
    No need to apologize for iterating. Iteration is always good, at least if you want to make perfect.
    I hate to say that the walking animation looks a bit weird to me. It looks like the police man is swinging his legs in a weird arch. https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/37692572/legArch.jpg
    It looks like he turns his legs in quite a weird manner as he walks, like he’s pulling his leg in and turning it 45 degrees before putting it out again. I don’t know if what I’m saying is making any sense to you but I thought I would say it anyway.
    I feel like you should have looked up police signs already in the beginning. One of the easiest ways to get your message across is through familiarity. If you want people to understand that it is a police man you should texture it in a way that people are familiar with and can relate to, like the checkered pattern for example. Most people have probably seen a British police man in either real life or through the means of media and know that they have a checkered pattern as part of their uniforms. Players will connect the dots and will understand that the blue fella with the checkered shoulders is a police.
    Good look with your game. I’m looking forward to seeing the final product.
    // Cheese

Leave a comment